Adobe Bridge – Full screen preview tips

Software:
Adobe Bridge 2020

  1. To get into full screen preview mode:
    Select an image and press Spacebar
  2. Use the arrow keys to navigate images in the folder
  3. Scroll the mouse wheel to zoom in-out

Note:
In full screen mode, you may see the images display soft / low resolution,
Even if the actual image files have enough resolution to fit the display.
This happens because Bridge’s cached previews were not generated at display resolution.
To fix this issue:

  1. In Edit > Preferences > Advanced:
    Check the Generate Monitor-Size Previews option
    Br
  2. In Tools > Cache >Manage Cache..:
    Select Clean Up Cache, Purge all local cache files,
    And then click Next.
    * You may have to restart the program for this to take effect
    Annotation 2020-08-17 193558

Batch Rename files in Adobe Bridge

Software:
Bridge CC 2018

  1. Select the files in the Content window.
  2. From the Tools menu, select Batch Rename to open the Batch Rename tool.
  3. Set renaming settings and look at the new name preview at the bottom to see the new name.
  4. Press theĀ Rename button.

An example of adding the suffix “_LowRes” to files:
Untitled-2

An example of adding the prefix “Tex_” to files:
Untitled-1

Adobe Bridge Warning

Software:
Adobe Bridge CC 2017

Adobe Bridge is very useful for browsing media in a CG \ Animation workflow,
mainly because it displays thumbnails and previews for EXR files, something that Windows Explorer doesn’t do, and also because it has cool batch functions like loading files as layers in a new Photoshop document and so on,
But I encountered a behavior that can be problematic,
The software uses caching for the thumbs and filmstrip preview in order to display the images faster,
And in some cases where you render updated files with the same folder structure and same names, Bridge will display the older preview images from it’s cache even if you manually deleted the whole folder structure prior to re-rendering!!
I stumbled across this issue when browsing render tests being confused as to why Blender rendered images with old settings, I naturally thought Blender was to blame (I tend to think that a media viewer can’t be the problem because it just displays images..) and looked through the render setting trying to understand what went wrong,
Eventually I found the cause of the problem in Bridge,
And there’s a simple solution with the command:
Tools > Purge > Purge cache for _______ folder
But you still have to be mindful that you might be seeing old renders, otherwise you won’t perform this important action.